At the helm

The Fishing Porthole was built from the wheelhouse

Like Fishing into the Future, the Fishing Porthole is a resource built by fishermen, for fishermen. We are led by fishermen and people working in the fishing industry, who give their time voluntarily to support Fishing into the Future while also running fishing businesses and working closely with the sector.


Our contributors include active fishermen, owners of small and large fishing vessels amongst their number. The remainder are fisheries experts working in the seafood supply chain, scientific research, and economics. To build upon the Fishing Porthole and enhance the value it offers, we are continually reaching out to a diverse collection of people with valuable experiences and knowledge to share.

David Stevens

Dave is a fisherman from Newlyn


Adrian Bartlett

Adrian is a marine & fishing consultant and promoter of British shellfish


Emma Plotnek

Emma is the Executive Director of Fishing into the Future

David Anderson

Dave is the CEO of the Aberdeen Fish Producers’ Organisation

Tina Barnes

Tina is head of Impact at the Seafarers’ Charity

Charles Blyth

Charles is the Risk, Safety and Training Lead at the NFFO

Jimmy Buchan

Jimmy is a seafood trader and retired fisherman from Peterhead

Peter Bruce 

Peter is a fisherman in the North Sea

Hazel Curtis

Hazel is an expert in fisheries economics

Carl Davies

Carl is a Fisherman, Skipper and Scientist from Conwy

Alexa Dayton

Alexa is an expert in developing fishing industry leadership

Sean Dennison

Sean is a crab fisherman based in Orkney

Hannah Fennell

Hannah is Head of the Orkney Fisheries Association

Alison Freeman

Alison is the Fisheries Programme Manager at the Fishmongers’ Company Fisheries Charitable Trust 

Amy Hutchinson

Amy is part of the Creative Team at Mindfully Wired Comms that brought the Porthole to life!

Trevor Jones

Trevor is a Welsh fisherman, fish farmer, and expert in fishing safety 

Michel Kaiser

Michel is professor of fisheries conservation at Herriot-Watt University

Jimmy Kelly

Jimmy is a creel fisherman and U10m fleet representative based in Portavogie

Deborah Layde

Deborah is the CEO of The Seafarers’ Charity

Steve Mackinson

Steve is a researcher at the Scottish Pelagic Fishermen’s Association

hattie mellor

Hattie worked as the Fishing Porthole project manager 

Ashley Mullenger

Ashley is a North Sea Fisherman promoting UK fishing on social media

Mike Park

Mike is CEO of the Scottish White Fish Producer Organisation

Beshlie Pool


Jenny & Karl Price

Jenny and Karl are a fishing family based in Bridlington

Andy Read

Andy spent 8 years at sea, but has continued to work for the fishing industry ashore in a variety of roles, most recently as editor of Fishing News

Jamie Robertson

Jamie is the Managing Director of Holderness Fishing Industry Group

Alan Steer

Alan is a third-generation crab fisherman from Devon

Neil Witney

Neil is an U12m trawler fisherman from Newhaven

Phil McBryde

Phil is a policy lead in the Domestic Fisheries & Reform team at Defra


The Fishmongers’ Company

We work collaboratively with the Fish and Fisheries Team at the Fishmonger’s Company, who provide financial support for our charitable activities

Find our more about The Fishmongers’ Charity.

The Fishmongers' Company
The Seafarers' Charity

The Seafarers’ Charity

The Seafarer’s Charity provides financial support for our charitable activities.

The Seafarers’ Charity aims to tackle the disadvantages of a seafaring life by leading collaboration, funding and advocacy to improve fishers’ and seafarers’ lives.

Find out more about The Seafarers’ Charity.

Fisheries and Seafood Scheme

A grant from the Fisheries and Seafood Scheme has funded the development of many of the learning resources we use on a regular basis.

Find out more about the Fisheries and Seafood Scheme

Fisheries & Seafood Scheme

We use third-party cookies to personalise content, ads and analyse site traffic.

Learn more